Spuds send 47 to sections

Post date: Apr 1, 2016 3:35:13 PM

Last season, the Spuds Speech team advanced 43 entries to the section tournament before shattering records with 29 speakers at state, earning 19 medals.

If last night was any indication, this year's squad might be primed for an encore performance.

Of the 55 speakers competing at yesterday's 8AA North Subsection tournament, 47 will continue on to Thursday's section tournament, held this year at Moorhead High School.

Among the 44 team entries advancing, 11 students took top honors in their category, including Lauren Cartwright (Creative), Abby & Sean Dahlberg (Duo), Megan DuChene (Ex. Reading), Quinn Kupec (Ex. Speaking), Carolyn Solberg (Great Speeches), Ariana Grollman (Humor), Jack Mullally (Oratory), Lexi Francis (Poetry), Delana Haglund (Prose), and McKensie Bedore (Storytelling).

The 8AA Section tournament is Thursday, April 7 beginning at 4 p.m. The top three speakers in each category will earn a spot at the MSHSL State Tournament on Saturday, April 16 at Lakeville North High School.

Spud Speakers advancing to sections (with subsection place):

Creative Expression:

Bridget McManamon (5th)

Regan Hart (2nd)

Lauren Cartwright (1st)


Hannah Hendrickson (6th)

Valeria Chavez (5th)

Simon Beach (3rd)

Dramatic Interpretation:

Signe Johnson (4th)

Noel Kangas (3rd)

Levi Seidel (2nd)

Duo Interpretation:

Sophia Klindt & Kaden Moszer (5th)

Izzy Larson & Devon Solwold (3rd)

Abby & Sean Dahlberg (1st)

Extemporaneous Reading:

Annie Nickell (3rd)

Megan DuChene (1st)

Extemporaneous Speaking:

Keith Larson (3rd)

Quinn Kupec (1st)

Great Speeches:

Miah Lee (5th)

Maryn Cella (2nd)

Carolyn Solberg (1st)

Humorous Interpretation:

Ian Bahe (5th)

Skyler Klostriech (4th)

Ella Halgrimson (3rd)

Alex Church (2nd)

Ariana Grollman (1st)

Informative Speaking:

Anna Larson (6th)

Lance Morlock (5th)

Jennie Hastings (4th)

Sarah Schulz (3rd)

Original Oratory:

Jesemy Travers (5th)

Camryn Hodny (4th)

Sophie Newcomb (2nd)

Jack Mullally (1st)

Poetry Reading:

Luke Seidel (5th)

Margaret Dickey (4th)

Mason Pickar (3rd)

Lexi Francis (1st)

Prose Reading:

Jacob Fuder (6th)

Dylan Stage (3rd)

Jessica Anderson (2nd)

Delana Haglund (1st)


Aubree Buysee (5th)

Isaac Lenarz (4th)

Alyssa Haagenson (2nd)

McKensie Bedore (1st)