Spuds sweep subs, send 49 to sections

Post date: Mar 31, 2017 2:47:55 PM

The Moorhead Spuds entered the 2017 postseason Thursday afternoon with a trimmed roster of 55 speakers. By late Thursday night, 49 had advanced to the 8AA Section tournament, three more than last year's record number and more than enough to secure top team honors for the third straight season.

A longer winning streak is now on the line as the Spuds will go for their 23rd straight section title on Thursday night at St. Cloud Tech. Last year, Moorhead advanced 19 entries to the Class AA State tournament en route to their inaugural team sweepstakes co-championship.

For the Spuds, all subsection competitors in nine of the 13 MSHSL categories advanced to sections, including five each in Creative Expression, Great Speeches, Informative, Prose, and Storytelling. A full list of advancing speakers can be found below.

The 8AA Section tournament is Thursday, April 6 at St. Cloud Tech High School, the site of an invitational Moorhead won less than a week ago. Competitors will speak in two preliminary rounds with half of the 12 speakers advancing to the final round. The top three in each category will move on to the state tournament, held at Apple Valley High School on Friday, April 21.

Advancing to the 8AA Section Tournament (with subsection placement):

Creative Expression

Ian Bahe (5th)

Matt Rosson (4th)

Evyn Judisch (3rd)

Alex Church (2nd)

Lauren Cartwright (1st)


Sydney Anderson (5th)

Hannah Hendrickson (2nd)


Trevor Schmidt (4th)

Luke Seidel (2nd)

Kenan Stoltenow (1st)


Izzy Larson & Devon Solwold (3rd)

Abby Dahlberg & Skyler Klostriech (1st)

Ex. Reading

Amanda Herzog (4th)

Chelsea Bubbers (3rd)

Megan Duchene (2nd)

Katherine Leiseth (1st)

Ex. Speaking

Claire Stoltenow (6th)

Simon Beach (3rd)

Bridget McManamon (1st)

Great Speeches (Top 8 advance)

Emma McFeely (8th)

Neva Miller (7th)

Molly Hauf (6th)

Maryn Cella (2nd)

Carolyn Solberg (1st)


Sophia Klindt (4th)

Ella Halgrimson (2nd)

Ariana Grollman (1st)


Laura Jensen (5th)

Anni Yoney (4th)

Anna Larson (3rd)

Lance Morlock (2nd)

Sarah Schulz (1st)


Katie Staiger (5th)

Jessica Anderson (1st)


Amelia Bjorklund (6th)

Jennie Hastings (5th)

Camryn Hodny (4th)


Taylor Qualey (6th)

Kaden Moszer (5th)

Dylan Stage (4th)

Margaret Dickey (2nd)

Noel Kangas (1st)


Regan Hart (6th)

Hannah Maki (4th)

Alex Seigel (3rd)

McKensie Bedore (2nd)

Alyssa Haagenson (1st)