Spuds take the North, advance to sections

Post date: Apr 6, 2018 12:01:07 PM

The Spuds will be well represented at next Thursday's 8AA section tournament. After taking first place in 12 of the 13 MSHSL categories, Moorhead will send 48 speakers (45 entries) to compete for a shot at state. The section tournament will be held on April 12th in Thief River Falls. The Spuds are going for their 24th consecutive section championship.

Below is a full list of section qualifiers, alternates, and their subsection placement.


Riley Stallman, 1st alternate

Matt Rosson, 6th

Evyn Judisch, 5th

Ian Bahe, 4th

Regan Hart, 1st


Beth Teiken, 3rd alternate

Grant Gervais, 2nd alternate

Joey DiSpirito, 1st alternate

Jack Eisenzimmer, 5th

Sydney Anderson, 4th


Mustafa Ahmed, 7th

Dylan Stage, 3rd

Kaden Moszer, 2nd

Jennie Hastings, 1st


Ethan Crompton & Lily Kjos, 3rd

Greta Almlie & Stella Mehlhoff, 2nd

Jonah Hanson & Cassidy Wendt, 1st

Ex. Reading:

Amanda Herzog, 3rd

Chelsea Bubbers, 2nd

Katherine Leiseth, 1st

Ex. Speaking:

Emma Pranger, 3rd

Bridget McManamon, 2nd

Claire Stoltenow, 1st

Great Speeches:

Molly Hauf, 4th

Emma McFeely, 3rd

Neva Miller, 1st


Ella Halgrimson, 4th

Maret Holm, 3rd

Sophia Klindt, 2nd

Ariana Grollman, 1st


Ashley Buegel, 4th

Grace Halvorson, 3rd

Anna Larson, 2nd

Anni Yoney, 1st


Katie Staiger, 1st alternate

Jack Entzion, 5th

Maren Twedt, 4th

Meghan Johnson, 3rd

Lance Morlock, 1st


Thalia Christenson, 1st alternate

Lauren Melton, 6th

Juli Hanson, 5th

Amelia Bjorklund, 2nd

Izzy Larson, 1st


Taylor Qualey, 4th

Luke Seidel, 2nd

Margaret Dickey, 1st


Makenzie Stockwell, 5th

Alyssa Haagenson, 4th

Ali Astrup, 2nd

Alex Seigel, 1st