Spuds topple Tech, prep for the postseason

Post date: Mar 26, 2018 1:29:43 AM

Seven Spuds earned top honors and 35 entries advanced to finals en route to a first place finish at Saturday's St. Cloud SpecTECHular tournament, the final invitational of the season. Seniors led the way for Moorhead as Bridget McManamon (Ex. Speaking), Ian Bahe (Creative), Lance Morlock (Oratory and Conversation) and Luke Seidel (Prose) all took 1st place; Izzy Larson won in Duo with Ariana Grollman and added a win in poetry as well. Sophomore Molly Hauf also won in Great Speeches.

The Spuds now turn to the postseason and the defense of their back-to-back state championships. The MSHSL only allows for singe entry at subsections and caps the total number of participants per school at 52 entries. The following speakers will represent MHS at this year's 8AA North Subsection tournament, to be held in Detroit Lakes on Thursday, April 5:

Creative Expression:

Ian Bahe

Regan Hart

Evyn Judisch

Matt Rosson

Riley Stallman


Sydney Anderson

Joey DiSpirito

Jack Eisenzimmer

Grant Gervais

Beth Teiken

Dramatic Interpretation:

Mustafa Ahmed

Jennie Hastings

Taylor Qualey

Dylan Stage

Duo Interpretation:

Greta Almlie & Stella Mehlhoff

Ethan Crompton & Lily Kjos

Jonah Hanson & Cassidy Wendt

Extemporaneous Reading:

Chelsea Bubbers

Amanda Herzog

Katherine Leiseth

Extemporaneous Speaking:

Bridget McManamon

Emma Pranger

Claire Stoltenow

Great Speeches:

Molly Hauf

Emma McFeely

Neva Miller

Humorous Interpretation:

Ariana Grollman

Ella Halgrimson

Maret Holm

Sophia Klindt

Informative Speaking:

Ashley Buegel

Grace Halvorson

Anna Larson

Anni Yoney

Original Oratory:

Jack Entzion

Megan Johnson

Lance Morlock

Katie Staiger

Maren Twedt


Amelia Bjorklund

Thalia Christenson

Juli Hanson

Izzy Larson

Lauren Melton


Annie Bahe

Margaret Dickey

Kaden Moszer

Luke Seidel


Ali Astrup

Alyssa Haagenson

Alex Seigel

Makenzie Stockwell

At subsections, the top six from each category advance to the 8AA Section Tournament where the Spuds have won 23 consecutive years. That tournament will be held in Thief River Falls on April 12th. From there, the top three from each category move on to the MSHSL State Tournament, held this year on Friday, April 20th at Apple Valley High School.