Spuds win Minneapple for second straight year

Post date: Feb 5, 2017 6:20:28 PM

After falling short of first place in every previous visit to the Apple Valley Minneapple tournament, Moorhead has now gone back-to-back seasons with the top trophy. On Saturday, the Spuds racked up 335 team points en route to a team sweepstakes championship.

Leading the way for Moorhead was junior Izzy Larson, who earned a duo championship with partner Devon Solwold, their second straight first place duo finish. The pair also won in duo at last year's Minneapple. Larson also earned apples by finishing second in both poetry and POI.

Other runner-up finishers include seniors Carolyn Solberg (Great Speeches) and Hannah Maki (Storytelling).

In all, Moorhead picked up eight marble apples, which are awarded to varsity finalists who finish in the top three and novice champions. This includes novice champion Riley Stallman (Creative Expression), and third place finishers Lauren Cartwright (Creative) and Abby Dahlberg (Humor). The eight apples match Moorhead's total from last season.

The full list of varsity and novice finalists are listed below.

Creative Expression:

Riley Stallman, 1st (novice)

Lauren Cartwright, 3rd (varsity)

Alex Church, 4th (varsity)


Izzy Larson & Devon Solwold, 1st (varsity)

Cassidy Wendt & Jonah Hanson, 3rd (novice)

Great Speeches:

Carolyn Solberg, 2nd (varsity)

Emma McFeely, 2nd (novice)

Maryn Cella, 5th (varsity)


Anni Yoney, 2nd (novice)

Laura Jenson, 4th (novice)


Abby Dahlberg, 3rd (varsity)

Skyler Klostriech, 4th (varsity)


Izzy Larson, 2nd (varsity)

Julie Hanson, 2nd (novice)

Hanah Mohammed, 5th (novice)


Izzy Larson, 2nd (varsity)


Noel Kangas, 4th (varsity)

Sarah Schulz, 5th (varsity)

Kaden Moszer, 6th (varsity)


Hannah Maki, 2nd (varsity)

McKensie Bedore, 5th (varsity)

Alex Seigel, 5th (novice)

Now the Spuds focus their attention to East Ridge for the Raptor invitational which begins on Saturday morning. The Spuds are looking to continue their winning ways as they try to top last year's second place team finish. Be sure to follow the team on Twitter for all final round postings and awards.

More tournament information can be found on our schedule/results page or by clicking here.