Sweet 16: Spuds punch tickets to Nationals

Post date: Mar 20, 2018 7:00:04 PM

Pictured from left to right: Front Row: Izzy Larson, Sophia Klindt, Ariana Grollman, Anna Larson, Jennie Hastings, Luke Seidel. Back Row: Meghan Johnson, Margaret Dickey, Lance Morlock, Bridget McManamon, Alyssa Haagenson, Claire Stoltenow.

After two long days and as many as 14 rounds of competition, 12 Spud Speakers were left standing at the 2018 NSDA Northern Lights National Qualifier Tournament. The dozen speech entries will join four debaters in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida in June. The full list of qualifiers is below.

In addition to those individual awards, the team was also recognized as the top speech school in the district, as well as the overall sweepstakes points champions for both speech and debate. Moorhead also accrued enough total rounds of competition to win the district traveling trophy.

And, in a first for Moorhead, Izzy Larson was named the 2018 Northern Lights Student of the Year. She will compete at Nationals in POI and is in the running for NSDA National Student of the Year. The honor will be awarded during the national tournament.

The Spuds now turn their focus to the final regular season tournament of the year in St. Cloud this Saturday. The Subsection roster will be announced shortly after, with postseason competition beginning with the 8AA North Subsection tournament on Thursday, April 5th in Detroit Lakes.

2018 NSDA Qualifiers:


Ariana Grollman

Sophia Klindt


Luke Seidel

Margaret Dickey

Dylan Stage


Luke Seidel & Sophia Klindt (will compete in HI and DI)

U.S. Extemp. Speaking:

Bridget McManamon

International Extemp. Speaking:

Claire Stoltenow


Alyssa Haagenson

Izzy Larson (Auto-Qualification)


Anna Larson

Lance Morlock


Lance Morlock (will compete in Inform)

Meghan Johnson

Public Forum Debate:

Simon Beach & Joey DiSpirito

Jack Entzion & Tate Gilbertson